FORGOTTEN MUSIC #29: Sleeper: Tokyo, April 16, 1979 By Keith Jarrett

ECM Records just released this classic concert on two CDs 30 years after the event. Why it took so long, I have no idea. Sleeper features the youthful Keith Jarrett “European Quartet” with Jan Garbarek on tenor sax and flute, Palle Danielsson on bass and Jon Christensen on drums. The concert was recorded live at Nakano Sun Plaza in Tokyo Japan on April 16, 1979. The performances sounds as fresh today as if they were recorded last week. If you’re a fan of this style of jazz, Sleeper is a must-buy. If you’re a casual listener, check out the sample below. GRADE: A
Disc 1:
1. Personal Mountains 41:32
2. Innocence 21:09
3. So Tender 26:21

Disc 2:
1. Oasis 55:18
2. Chant Of The Soil 29:09
3. Prism 22:03
4. New Dance 13:57

11 thoughts on “FORGOTTEN MUSIC #29: Sleeper: Tokyo, April 16, 1979 By Keith Jarrett

  1. Todd Mason

    I tended to find Jarrett’s solo concerts of the ’70s relatively spineless (I preferred Cecil Taylor’s more propulsive approach to free jazz solo piano in long-form composition) but usually enjoyed his group recordings, as well as those of the other folks here…sometimes it’s just a matter of someone finally listens to the tape again, or finds it where they tucked it away in a vault. ECM-Typical lack of liner notes, I gather.

    1. george Post author

      You’re probably right about someone finding SLEEPER tucked into an ECM vault, Todd. There’s a lot of energy on these CDs. You would enjoyed them. Liner notes, ha!

    1. george Post author

      SLEEPER is a pretty good introduction to Keith Jarrett’s music, Patti. Not a bad place to start… Hope Megan is home safe and sound!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *