I’m a hopeless Loreena McKennitt fan. For over 20 years, I’ve bought Loreena McKennitt’s CDs and seen her in concert. Troubadours on the Rhine: A Trio Performance was recorded at German radio station during Loreena McKennitt’s 2010 promotional tour for The Wind That Shakes the Barley. Troubadours on the Rhine captures the Canadian harpist/vocalist in a stripped down mode. Loreen McKennitt is backed by Brian Hughes (guitar) and Caroline Lavelle (cello), McKennitt’s hourlong set draws from her entire career, with songs from The Wind That Shakes the Barley as well as favorites like “Bonny Portmore,” “Lady of Shalott,” and “The Bonny Swans.” I found the entire performance captivating. GRADE: A
1 Bonny Portmore 3:45
2 Down by the Sally Gardens 4:22
3 The Wind That Shakes the Barley 4:45
4 Between the Shadows 4:25
5 The Lady of Shalott 6:57
6 Stolen Child 5:14
7 Penelope’s Song 3:53
8 The Bonny Swans 5:52
9 The Parting Glass 5:10

8 thoughts on “TROUBADOURS ON THE RHINE By Loreena McKennitt

    1. george Post author

      You’re right about Loreena McKennitt’s gorgeous voice, Patti. And she sounds just great in concert. This intimate performance really captures her talent.

  1. Jeff Meyerson

    I like her too, though I haven’t listened to her CD’s in a while. She does have an incredible voice.

  2. Carl V.

    I’ve been a fan of hers ever since a friend loaned me a CD years ago with her musical version of Tennyson’s poem, The Lady of Shalott, as this friend knew that I loved the poem. I pull that CD out every so often just so I can listen to that song. But of course I can never quite stop there. 🙂

    She is really talented.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *